Back to Top
World Gastroenterology Organisation
World Gastroenterology Organisation
WGO: Facebook WGO: Twitter

Masters of the WGO

New! Call for Nominations for the Masters of the WGO Award for 2017 is Now Open! The deadline for nominations is 12 May 2017.  View the announcement here!

The Master of the WGO Award is the highest honor the World Gastroenterology Organisation (WGO) can bestow on a member and is granted only to those individuals who have provided outstanding dedication to the mission of the WGO and achieved distinction in such areas as scholarly research, teaching, and service to WGO and the community at large.

The Award was created to recognize these contributions and by this recognition provide incentive, encouragement, and guidance for others to significantly contribute to their fields. The Masters of the WGO Award is a capstone career award and is given in conjunction with each World Congress of Gastroenterology.

Recipients of the Masters of the WGO Award receive an engraved plaque presented at the time of the General Assembly, recognition in WGO publications and on the website. Recipients may also use the title of “Master of the WGO” and the letters “MWGO” in conjunction with their name.

2015 Masters of the WGO

The 2015 Masters of the WGO were recognized at the WGO General Assembly that took place during Gastro 2015: AGW-WGO International Congress in Brisbane, Australia, September 2015.

Michael Fried
Michael Fried, MWGO

Richard Kozarek
Richard Kozarek, MWGO

2013 Masters of the WGO

The 2013 Masters of the WGO were recognized at an awards ceremony that took place during the World Congress, Gastro 2013 APDW/WCOG Shanghai, in Shanghai, China, September 2013.

Jean Paul Galmiche
Jean Paul Galmiche, MWGO

Richard Hunt
Richard Hunt, MWGO

Bernard Levin
Bernard Levin, MWGO

Juan Malagelada
Juan Malagelada, MWGO

Finlay Macrae
Finlay Macrae, MWGO

Ibrahim Mostafa
Ibrahim Mostafa, MWGO

D Nageshwar Reddy
D Nageshwar Reddy, MWGO

Joseph Sung
Joseph Sung, MWGO

Guido Villa-Gomez
Guido Villa-Gomez, MWGO

2009 Masters of the WGO

The 2009 Masters of the WGO were recognized at an awards ceremony that took place during the Gastro 2009 United Gastroenterology Week (UEGW) / World Congress of Gastroenterology (WCOG) in London, UK, November 2009.

Luiz de Paula Castro
Luiz de Paula Castro, MWGO

Suliman Fedail
Suliman Fedail, MWGO

Joseph Geenen
Joseph Geenen, MWGO

Solly Marks
Solly Marks, MWGO
(South Africa)

Melvin Schapiro
Melvin Schapiro, MWGO

Isidor Segal
Isidor Segal, MWGO
(South Africa)

Zeyad Sharaiha
Zeyad Sharaiha, MWGO

Rakesh Tandon
Rakesh Tandon, MWGO

Guido Tytgat
Guido Tytgat, MWGO
(The Netherlands)

Shu-Dong Xiao
Shu-Dong Xiao, MWGO