Back to Top
World Gastroenterology Organisation
World Gastroenterology Organisation
WGO: LinkedInWGO: Twitter WGO: Facebook

Past Presidents

The President of the World Gastroenterology Organisation (WGO) is responsible for the proper functioning of WGO and is empowered to undertake the necessary actions with the knowledge of the Governing Council. The President presides at all meetings of the Governing Council and at business sessions of the WGO.

Starting in 2009, the position of the President is limited to one, two-year term of office, which runs from the approval of the General Assembly. Prior to this, it was limited to two, four-year terms of office.  

President James Toouli

David Bjorkman


James Toouli
2013 - 2015


President Henry Cohen

Henry Cohen
2011 – 2013


President Richard Kozarek

Richard Kozarek
2009 – 2011


President Eamonn Quigley

Eamonn Quigley
2005 – 2009


President Guido Tytgat

Guido Tytgat
(The Netherlands)
2002 – 2005


President Meinhard Classen

Meinhard Classen
1998 – 2002


President Ian A.D. Bouchier

Ian A.D. Bouchier
1990 – 1998 (reelected)


President Francisco Vilardell

Francisco Vilardell
1982 – 1990 (reelected)


President Joel Valencia-Parparcén

Joel Valencia-Parparcén  
1978 – 1982


President Geoffrey Watkinson

Geoffrey Watkinson
1974 – 1978


President Marvin H. Pollard

Marvin H. Pollard
1970 – 1974


President Heliodoro G. Mogena

Heliodoro G. Mogena
1966 – 1970


President Thomas Hunt

Thomas Hunt
1962 – 1966


President Henry L. Bockus

Henry L. Bockus
1958 – 1962