Back to Top
World Gastroenterology Organisation
World Gastroenterology Organisation


WGO is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the Masters of the WGO (MWGO) Award.

Deadline to submit nominations is Friday, 15 March 2019.

Nominations can be submitted online here:

Overview of the Award:
The Master of the WGO Award is the highest honor WGO can bestow on a member and is granted only to those individuals who have provided outstanding dedication to the mission of the WGO and achieved distinction in such areas as scholarly research, teaching, service to WGO and the community at large. The Award was created to recognize these contributions and by this recognition provide incentive, encouragement and guidance for others to significantly contribute to their fields. The Masters of the WGO Award is a capstone career award and is given in conjunction with each World Congress of Gastroenterology. The next awards ceremony will take place during the upcoming World Congress of Gastroenterology from 21-24 September 2019 in Istanbul, Turkey.

Recipients of the Masters of the WGO Award will receive an engraved plaque to be presented at the time of the General Assembly at the 2019 World Congress in Istanbul and will receive recognition in WGO publications and on the website. Recipients may also use the title of “Master of the WGO” and the letters “MWGO” in conjunction with their name.

To learn more about previous recipients of the award, please visit the WGO website at:

Eligibility Requirements:
Any member of a WGO Member Society of gastroenterology and hepatology may apply or be nominated. There is no prescreening of nominees. Nominators are asked to give preference to nominees who are clearly recognized as leaders in gastroenterology and hepatology in their region or internationally. Nominators are encouraged to consider those individuals who are contributing in the less well-developed parts of the world and who have received less international recognition for their critical efforts to serve the population WGO is focused on. Professional service, including transmission of scholarly knowledge within the gastroenterology and hepatology community and to the general public, shall be a factor in choosing a recipient.

Nomination Submission Requirements:

  1. The nominee’s curriculum vitae.
  2. A summary of the nominee’s contributions to gastroenterology, to WGO and to their community (not to exceed 3 pages).
  3. A letter from the nominator and two letters of recommendation as supporting documentation. Supporting documentation with multiple signatures will be accepted.
  4. Nominations may be submitted by any member of WGO, by the selection committee or self-nominated.

Selection Process:
A Selection Committee chaired by the Past President of WGO and consisting of six (6) additional members, including one past recipient of the award and one representative from each of North America, Central/South America, Asia Pacific, Europe, and Africa/Middle East, will review the nominations received and recommend up to six (6) recipients for each award cycle to the WGO Governing Council.

Candidates will be notified whether or not they have been selected by end of April 2019.

The deadline to submit nominations is Friday, 15 March 2019.

Nominations can be submitted online here:

Should you have any questions or comments, please contact:
Marissa Lopez, WGO Executive Director, at