Back to Top
World Gastroenterology Organisation
World Gastroenterology Organisation

Clinical Research Committee

The Clinical Research Committee coordinates WGO-endorsed clinical research projects and related initiatives and advises WGO on relevant research-related issues and activities.

Chair, Clinical Research Committee, Prof. Des Leddin

Committee Chair

Desmond Leddin

Govind Makharia

Committee Vice Chair

Govind Makharia


Alan Barkun (Canada)
Aykut Ferhat Çelik (Turkey)
Ye Chen (China)
Hilmi Daoud (Sudan)
Reda Elwakil (Egypt)
Saeed S. Hamid (Pakistan, Hepatology Interest Group)
Takanori Kanai (Japan)
Harshit Khara (USA)
Justin Yeong Yeh Lee (Malaysia)
Finlay Macrae (Australia, Training Centers Committee)
Elias Makhoul (Lebanon)
Jean-Christophe Saurin (France, Train the Trainers Committee)
Sandie Thomson (South Africa)
Mark Topazian (USA, Endoscopy, Other Procedures & Outreach Interest Group)
Kaichun Wu (China, Promotion of Education in Asia-Pacific Region)

Staff Liaisons

Krystal Antrim-Jones, WGO Program Manager

Robert Kopchinski, WGO and WGOF Assistant Director of Development