Back to Top
World Gastroenterology Organisation
World Gastroenterology Organisation

Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee is a group formed from inside the membership of the World Gastroenterology Organisation (WGO) for the purpose of overseeing the nominations process resulting in the selection of candidates to serve in the leadership, committees and interest groups of WGO.

David Bjorkman

Committee Chair

David Bjorkman
(USA, WGO Past President)


Cihan Yurdaydin (Turkey, WGO President)
James Toouli (Australia, WGO Past Past President)
KR Palaniswamy (India, One of two Governing Council nominations)
Miguel Valdovinos (Mexico, Second of two Governing Council nominations)
Enio Chaves de Oliveira (Brazil, At-large representative from region 1: Americas, nominated by Governing Council)
Joost Drenth (Netherlands, At-large representative from region 2: Europe, nominated by Governing Council)
Yunsheng Yang (China, At-large representative from region 3: Asia Pacific, nominated by Governing Council)
Hussein Abdel Hamid (Egypt, At-large representative from region 4: Africa/Middle East, nominated by Governing Council)

Staff Liaison

Marissa Lopez, WGO/WGOF Executive Director