Back to Top
World Gastroenterology Organisation
World Gastroenterology Organisation


The World Gastroenterology Organisation (WGO) presents a number of awards in conjunction with each World Congress of Gastroenterology, and at the meetings of the WGO Regional Affiliate Associations. These include:

The Master of the WGO Award

The highest honor WGO can bestow on a member, this capstone career award is granted only to those individuals who have provided outstanding dedication to the mission of the WGO and achieved distinction in such areas as scholarly research, teaching, service to WGO, and the community at large.

The Bockus Medal and Lecture

A medal is awarded in commemoration of Henry L. Bockus, the first president of WGO, to a gastroenterologist who, in the opinion of the WGO Governing Council, has made a distinguished contribution to the clinical practice, science and/or teaching of gastroenterology.

The Brohée Medal and Lecture

A lecture is delivered during each World Congress to commemorate Georges Brohée, the founder of the first International Association of Gastroenterology. The lecturer is chosen by the WGO Governing Council from either the host country or the respective region.

The WGO Distinguished Global Lecture

The WGO Distinguished Global Lecture is to contribute from a global perspective to the education and training being offered on a regional basis by the four WGO Regional Affiliate Associations - AMAGE, APAGE, OPGE and UEG - and to provide an opportunity for WGO to realize in partnership with its Regional Affiliate Associations its primary mission, which is to represent, present and support the discipline of gastroenterology, hepatology and related disciplines worldwide and enhance the reach of WGO’s Members, particularly in developing and low-resource regions.