World Gastroenterology Organisation

Global Guardian of Digestive Health. Serving the World.


Governing Council

The World Gastroenterology Organisation (WGO) vests its general management in a Governing Council. Acting through the Governing Council, the WGO is empowered to undertake the necessary activities to fulfill the goals and mission of the organization.

Executive Committee

Geoffrey Metz


Professor Geoffrey Metz
Epworth Hospital
Richmond, VIC, Australia

Carolina Olano


Professor Carolina Olano
Universidad de La Republica
Montevideo, Uruguay

Guilherme Macedo

Past President

Professor Guilherme Macedo
Centro Hospitalar São João
Porto, Portugal

Kaichun Wu


Professor Kaichun Wu
Xijing Hospital
Xi'an, China

Vivek Kaul

Secretary General

Professor Vivek Kaul
University of Rochester Medical Center
Rochester, NY, USA

Director At-Large

Professor Dan Dumitrascu
University of Medicine and Pharmacy
Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Committees Chairs

Desmond Leddin

Chair, Climate Change Committee

Professor Desmond Leddin
Dalhousie University
Halifax, Canada

Govind Makharia

Chair, Clinical Research Committee

Professor Govind Makharia
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Gastroenterology & Human Nutrition
New Delhi, India

Chair, Endoscopy Committee

Professor Sandie Thomson
Groote Schuur Hospital, Observatory
Cape Town, South Africa

Chair, Publications Committee

Chair, Guidelines Committee

Professor Alejandro Piscoya
Hospital Guillermo Kaelin de La Fuente
Lima, Peru

Chair, Hepatology Committee

Professor Nancy Reau
Rush University Medical Center
Chicago, IL, USA

Susana Lopes

Chair, IBD Committee

Professor Susana Lopes
Hospital da Luz Póvoa de Varzim
Porto, Portugal

Chair, Media and Community Engagement Committee

Professor Anita Afzali
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Cincinnati, Ohio

Promotion of Education in Asia-Pacific Region

Professor Varocha Mahachai
Gastro Network
Bangkok, Thailand

Chair, Scientific Programs Committee

Professor Jonathan Leighton
Mayo Clinic
Scottsdale, AZ, USA

Chair, Training Centers Committee

Professor Luis Carlos Sabbagh
Sanitas University Foundation
Bogota, Colombia

Chair, Train the Trainers Committee

Professor Kelly Burak
University of Calgary Liver Unit
Calgary, Canada

Chair, Young Members Committee

Chair, Young Members Committee

Professor Kavel Visrodia
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA, USA




Website Disclaimer

Cookie Notice

We use cookies to ensure you the best experience on our website. Your acceptance helps ensure that experience happens. To learn more, please visit our Privacy Notice.